UKSaabs

THE site for UK Saab people!
It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:13 am

All times are UTC



Forum rules


For full on restorations and major projects only.

Due to the number of topics within the previous Project forum we apologise for not being able to filter all topics to the relevant new forum. Please contact a member of the Admin/Mod team should you feel your topic falls within the remit of the new ''Restorations & Major Projects'' forum.
Your request will be reviewed by the team and, if deemed suitable, moved to the new ''Restorations & Major Projects'' forum.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:31 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
beardydave wrote:
Hmm, not sure how to run WIS on a mac, even with a windows emulator.

It doesn't use a lot of power, could you get a cheap windows laptop specifically for saab stuff?
You'll likely need it for tech2 as well as that will need security access to do anything to the 9-3, which can only be granted through a computer. You'd also need a USB to COM port dongle.


I can put a copy of WIS and EPC on my Googledrive for you and PM a link. Both have been tweaked to run on 64bit computers.


Thanks for all your help, what I have got is an old Panasonic Toughbook CF-18 running Windows XP was used to interrogate helicopter ECU, also have a USB to serial adaptor (but then this computer has serial port)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:38 am 
Offline
UKS Encyclopædia G-M
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:39 am
Posts: 39731
Location: SW Herts
Car Model: 9-5 Aero est. 9-3 Carlsson
I ran the WIS on a Mac using The emulator “Parallels”. It was OK, but became a pain as it seemed to need a reinstall every time Apple updated their system or when Parallels did.

I now run it on the Dell equivalent of a Toughbook running Windows XP and it’s fine!! :)

All the Saab software is quite ancient now and XP is quite modern enough.

_________________
.
.
.
.
Everything will be OK in the end. If it's not OK, it's not the end...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:52 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
sgould wrote:
I ran the WIS on a Mac using The emulator “Parallels”. It was OK, but became a pain as it seemed to need a reinstall every time Apple updated their system or when Parallels did.

I now run it on the Dell equivalent of a Toughbook running Windows XP and it’s fine!! :)

All the Saab software is quite ancient now and XP is quite modern enough.



Good news.....looks like I should give it a go :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:09 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
Removed the sub-frame mounts from the TurboX body, along with 2 other brackets that are needed for the prop shaft. Spoke to a local welder and he'll be happy to attach these mounts to the Aero once I've got it up on stands with the fuel tank/ exhaust / rear sub-frame removed.

I'm getting nervous that I'll have to finally commit to doing this, just got to sort a new boot out for the prop shaft, all the fluids have been changed (except the auto transmission, which I might take to the local transmission expert, as I'm hoping he'll be able to do a complete change).


Attachments:
Unknown-3.jpeg
Unknown-3.jpeg [ 65.62 KiB | Viewed 791 times ]
Unknown-2.jpeg
Unknown-2.jpeg [ 68.16 KiB | Viewed 791 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:53 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
Today started fitting the "Chinese" iCartech double din head unit to the Aero, but whilst at it figured I should transfer some of the Turbo X trim across, this included the instrument cluster.......all went well transferring items across steering wheel etc, but then I go to start the car.......got the message "ready for take off" but then "Service XWD system" and it wouldn't start :cry: So I guess tomorrow I'll go back to the Aero instrument cluster until I've actually fitted a XWD system.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:57 am 
Offline
UKS Encyclopædia G-M
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:39 am
Posts: 39731
Location: SW Herts
Car Model: 9-5 Aero est. 9-3 Carlsson
The instrument cluster is security coded. It has to match the CIM, keys and ECU, as far as I’m aware.

I think the “Service XWD” message is not the cause of the non-start. Ours started and ran for a couple of weeks with that message, before it was repaired.

_________________
.
.
.
.
Everything will be OK in the end. If it's not OK, it's not the end...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:36 am 
Online
UKS Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:12 pm
Posts: 8032
Location: Portsmouth
Car Model: 96 V4 & 9-3 Turbo-X
Needs re-coding to the new CIM module.


Various bits of car will need re-coding too so that they know to expect a XWD system.

_________________
'75 96 V4 Anniversary Restoration Project
'09 9-3 Turbo-X Wagon No. 38
B204 Haynes Roadster Project


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:01 pm 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
beardydave wrote:
Needs re-coding to the new CIM module.


Various bits of car will need re-coding too so that they know to expect a XWD system.



Thanks, will go back to the Aero instrument cluster for now, hopefully when I put the engine/transmission/drivetrain in from the TX, I'll be able to convince the system that it is the TX, I'll change the keys over too. Can't wait to repeat removing vents......hopefully this time they won't collapse necessitating the fiddly job of reassembly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:38 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
My solution to the rip in the prop shaft front boot....easier than dismantling, I added a heap of extra CV grease.

Been moving items across, front seats, door trims, rear seats don't fit (saloon to wagon)


Attachments:
Unknown-4.jpeg
Unknown-4.jpeg [ 73.78 KiB | Viewed 672 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:13 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
So let the fun begin........

Photo of the Aero, hopefully when I next drive it out I'll be able to call it a Turbo X


Got the exhaust off - easy

Rear Sub-frame - easy

Fuel tank.....this is going to be fun, it has different brackets, so I'm going to have to remove from Turbo X shell and weld in place :argh: Then I looked at the pins in the electrical plug......Aero 4 wires......Turbo X about 8/9 .....tomorrows task is to trace these extra wires through the Turbo X wiring harness, I'm guessing it has something to do with the extra fuel level sender, but I wasn't expecting this challenge.,,,,,,still it's what I signed up for.


Attachments:
Unknown-5.jpeg
Unknown-5.jpeg [ 90.54 KiB | Viewed 597 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:14 am 
Offline
UKS Encyclopædia G-M
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:39 am
Posts: 39731
Location: SW Herts
Car Model: 9-5 Aero est. 9-3 Carlsson
The XWD fuel tank is bigger. 61 litres against 55, according to the manual.

_________________
.
.
.
.
Everything will be OK in the end. If it's not OK, it's not the end...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:19 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
sgould wrote:
The XWD fuel tank is bigger. 61 litres against 55, according to the manual.


Yup it's a totally different shape.....has to allow a prop shaft pass through it's centre, but I had hoped that the brackets would bolt to the same bolt holes, they do at the front but the rear has an added plate that the "straps" slot into.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:45 am 
Online
UKS Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:12 pm
Posts: 8032
Location: Portsmouth
Car Model: 96 V4 & 9-3 Turbo-X
You sure its bigger?

I can only get ~53L in on a tank that's warning me to refuel. Never run it to empty as it starts telling me to "re-fuel now".


Unless it's been programmed incorrectly at some point for the capacity / empty level.

_________________
'75 96 V4 Anniversary Restoration Project
'09 9-3 Turbo-X Wagon No. 38
B204 Haynes Roadster Project


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 1:48 pm 
Offline
UKS Encyclopædia G-M
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:39 am
Posts: 39731
Location: SW Herts
Car Model: 9-5 Aero est. 9-3 Carlsson
Saab WIS says that the fuel tank in the front wheel drive is 58 litres (not 55 as I said above!) and the one in the XWD is 61 litres. Both have the warning light set at 10 litres. That would mean 48 litres or so if you refuel at that point.

The "refill fuel now" is calculated by DTE and is around 20 miles.

The US/CA and Biofuel 2.0 litre cars had 62 litres.

_________________
.
.
.
.
Everything will be OK in the end. If it's not OK, it's not the end...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:06 pm 
Online
UKS Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:12 pm
Posts: 8032
Location: Portsmouth
Car Model: 96 V4 & 9-3 Turbo-X
Or 51L for the fuel light on my TX. Which would fit with the ~51L I can stick in when I brim the tank from the light coming on.

I never got a manual with mine, so never had this information. Knowing i've got up to 61L as measured by eSID is useful though.

_________________
'75 96 V4 Anniversary Restoration Project
'09 9-3 Turbo-X Wagon No. 38
B204 Haynes Roadster Project


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:00 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
Getting there......

Aero engine out......just got a few small tasks (strengthen engine mounts with silicon ), then I'll get the Turbo X engine fitted.

Still waiting for a welder to mount the brackets I need for the rear sub-frame/ fuel tank and prop shaft


Attachments:
Unknown-6.jpeg
Unknown-6.jpeg [ 126.18 KiB | Viewed 453 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2018 7:48 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
Progress....Engine, prop shaft, exhaust, and rear sub frame from TX now fitted to the Aero.

Now I'm working through getting the wiring correct.......we'll see, only a few days away from trying to start it!


Attachments:
Unknown-8.jpeg
Unknown-8.jpeg [ 79.65 KiB | Viewed 404 times ]
Unknown-7.jpeg
Unknown-7.jpeg [ 94.38 KiB | Viewed 404 times ]
Unknown-9.jpeg
Unknown-9.jpeg [ 75.72 KiB | Viewed 404 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:56 pm 
Looking good mate

Tech2, I bought one from China - aliexpress I think I used, I'm not sure how "genuine" it is, but it works as expected, cost me about $300 USD and I've used it a lot on my Saab.

If your going to reprogram any modules, do an ADD operation first - which matches the VIN module in the unit to the car (ECM/CIM and possibly some others), otherwise you can end up with VIN mismatch and you can't recover out of it. I did this to an ECM....£60 for a second hand numbers matching replacement plus time to sort out. Didn't feel too bad as someone at a Saab specialist told me one of their guys had done it in the past and yes they had had to replace the module.

Instrument panel, you'd do an Add and then it asks you to configure it to the car's spec, ususally with a myriad of options to go through, take it slow, follow and read the prompts carefully and if in doubt...ASK lol, watch that you get the Model Year right, mine is a 2005 plate car but a 06 model year. USUALLY Tech2 will warn you of this though "Wrong model year specified".


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:20 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
Removed at user's request wrote:
Looking good mate

Tech2, I bought one from China - aliexpress I think I used, I'm not sure how "genuine" it is, but it works as expected, cost me about $300 USD and I've used it a lot on my Saab.

If your going to reprogram any modules, do an ADD operation first - which matches the VIN module in the unit to the car (ECM/CIM and possibly some others), otherwise you can end up with VIN mismatch and you can't recover out of it. I did this to an ECM....£60 for a second hand numbers matching replacement plus time to sort out. Didn't feel too bad as someone at a Saab specialist told me one of their guys had done it in the past and yes they had had to replace the module.

Instrument panel, you'd do an Add and then it asks you to configure it to the car's spec, ususally with a myriad of options to go through, take it slow, follow and read the prompts carefully and if in doubt...ASK lol, watch that you get the Model Year right, mine is a 2005 plate car but a 06 model year. USUALLY Tech2 will warn you of this though "Wrong model year specified".


Thanks for that advise.........I'm very nervous about how this is going to work out........I've no Tech 2, my first plan is that I believe that if I've changed everything over to the TX configuration, Keys, engine, transmission, fuse box, instruments etc..........it should just start believing it is the TX, presently having fun splicing wires into the Aero wiring loom to make it the same as the TX!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 6:20 am 
Offline
Active user

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 47
Car Model: Saab 9-3 Turbo X + 9-3 Convert
OK.......Great feeling to have what looks like a Turbo X wagon completed..............


Just wish I could start the thing.......I know you are all going to tell me I NEED Tech2.

The Turbo X keys work, open doors etc, but when I go to turn the key I get the message "Steering Lock Malfunction" which is preventing any further progress. I had this message occasionally when driving the car around as an Aero, with this in mind I changed the lock across to the Turbo X lock (not an easy task, lying inverted in the drivers footwell), I've already tried plugging the Aero lock back in, but no difference. I know the Turbo X lock worked when it was in the damaged body shell. Does anyone know if there is another item that can cause this problem? Could it be a wiring issue.

Immediate plan is to talk to a mate at local Holden garage, see if plugging his Tech2 is will reveal anything........But looks like I'll buying Tech 2, -Chinease Clone


:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

follow UKSaabs on Twitter



UKSaabs silhouette logo images by Mark Green www.greenphotos.com
"subsilver2" slightly bodged by UKSaabs for our own use.

:: Disclaimer ::
Comments posted here are the views of their individual authors and are not necessarily shared by the owners of this Web site.
Authors assume all responsibility for comments posted here.

UKSaabs The biggest and best privately owned UK based independent Saab forum for all SAAB enthusiasts.
Whilst we encourage our users to support our advertisers the site wishes to remain independent and therefore does not endorse any particular advertiser(s)
UKSaabs is not affiliated with Saab Cars UK or Saab Automobile AB