UKSaabs

THE site for UK Saab people!
It is currently Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:15 pm

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 163 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:55 pm 

Car Model: 9-3 2.0T Aero Convertible
Hi

I am collecting my new car on Saturday, 2005 9-3 2.0T Aero convertible. At the moment the fabric hood is immaculate.

I am wondering how I keep it that way - whether I should only be cleaning with special shampoo and how often I have to treat it etc.etc ....

It will be garaged over night so am hoping that will keep it better for longer.

All tips would be gratefully received as I am complete novice, never even had a convertible let alone a Saab!!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 1:50 am 
Full Pressure Turbo

Car Model: 93 2.0 SE turbo (1999) vert
Hi Jen, Good question which I hope that I am able to help you with.

Your car is now 6/7 years old and it may be likely that it has not been re-proofed since new. The key signs of this are no beading on the fabric after it rains....looks more like sodden fabric.

Dont worry, it wont seep through, as there is a waterproof membrane underneath the fabric itself.

So first up....give the fabric a good vacuum. This will pick up a lot of the trapped dirt.

Next. Use a good quality 'rag-top' cleaner. My preference is the Renovo System...a little more expensive than most, but does an excellent job.

After aggitating the cleaner, leave for 30 minutes.....most cleaners will have a foaming action which will lift off any dirt and grime. Then rinse off with an open ended hosepipe. Not Pressurewash as this will just make the cleaner foam.

Let the fabric dry off before you next do anything to it.

After it has dried, you may see on the fabric faded lines. These are caused by folds in the fabric, when in the boot or by the support bars themselves when up. If these are very faded, you may decide to re-dye the fabric, before you apply any proofer.